‘III INTERNATIONAL TENNIS TOURNAMENT ST. PETERSBURG LADIES TROPHY WILL BE THE BEST EDITION IN TERMS OF PARTICIPATING PLAYERS IN THE HISTORY OF THE TOURNAMENT.’ ALEXANDER MEDVEDEV

Alex-tennis photographer ATP WTA FormulaTX St.Petersburg Ladies Trophy

Alex-tennis photographer ATP WTA FormulaTX St.Petersburg Ladies Trophy

On January 15 in the northwestern regional office of TASS News Agency a regular press conference dedicated to the III International Tennis Tournament St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy took place. The participants included the members of the Organizing Committee, and representatives of local authorities, sports community, and media.

 The speakers included Alexander Medvedev – Deputy Chairman of the Board at Gazprom PJSC and the  Director General of the Tournament, Vladimir Kirillov – Vice Governor of St. Petersburg, Pavel Belov – Chairman of the Committee for Physical Culture and Sports of St. Petersburg City Administration, Vladimir Prokofiev – President of the Tennis Federation of St. Petersburg, Natalia Kamelzon – WTA Tournament Director, Vladimir Kamelzon – Member of the Board for General Affairs, Merited Coach of Russia, and Vera Podguzova – PR Director of the tournament.

Alexander Medvedev gave a warm welcome to all the participants and drew their attention to a very significant fact about the tournament – its star players:

“We are pleased that at the 2018 edition we have the WTA no. 1 Simona Halep from Romania, the world. no. 2 Caroline Wozniacki will be a strong competition for others at the tournament, the participant and the winner of the doubles at St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy 2017 and the current no. 7 of the WTA ranking Jelena Ostapenko also gladly accepted the Organizing Committee’s invitation, Caroline Garcia from France (world no. 8) and her countrywoman and last year’s edition winner Kristina Mladenivic (WTA no.11) will entertain everyone with their game on the courts of Sibur Arena. The list of participants of the 2018 edition is objectively very strong, and we don’t rule out the possibility of Venus Williams coming to the tournament – she might receive a wild card from the WTA. I can safely say that the III International Tennis Tournament St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy will be the best edition in terms of participating players in the history of the tournament. “

Summing up, Alexander Medvedev thanked the authorities of St. Petersburg for their help in organizing the women’s tournament. Their support plays a big part in the preparation of the women’s competition.

Vice Governor of St. Petersburg Vladimir Kirillov welcomed the participants of the press conference on behalf of the Governor of St. Petersburg Georgy Poltavchenko. Mr. Kirillov also expressed sincere gratitude on behalf of Mr. Poltavchenko to Alexander Medvedev whose significant contribution to the sport gave tennis a great opportunity to develop and prosper.

President of the Tennis Federation of St. Petersburg Vladimir Prokofiev welcomed the crowd and gave a brief patriotic speech where he expressed his sincere hope of having a Russian athlete win St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy 2018. “This is my big wish,” he summed up.

WTA Tournament Director Natalia Kamelzon thanked all media representatives, including the general and official media partners, for their huge creative and outstanding work which produces a positive image of the event, for their steady support and the enjoyment their interesting articles and fascinating photos bring to people. Ms. Kamelzon expressed her gratitude to St. Petersburg City Administration for their help with the organization of international tournaments, and thanked partners and sponsors of the competition.

Natalia Kamelzon especially mentioned that within the two years of organizing the WTA tournament in St. Petersburg the Organizing Committee has formed a really great relationship with the Women’s Tennis Association, the unorthodox approach to the making of the competitions in St. Petersburg provoked a great interest from the latter, and the presentation of the city on Neva as a contender to host the WTA Finals has made an impression on the WTA Board.

“I want to mention that this year we will be visited by the WTA Chairman of the Board Steve Simon, the WTA President Micky Lawler, the WTA Vice President Kathryn Chappetto, the WTA Vice President, the WTA Supervisor, and the WTA Finals Supervisor in Singapore Giulia Orlandi, who will take up the position of our tournament’s supervisor and replace Tony Cho this year. We are also expecting the Director of Security at ATP and WTA Bob Campbell.”

PR Director of the tournament Vera Podguzova talked about the big work that the PR Department of the tournament in St. Petersburg does before the event. Ms. Podguzova mentioned a series of junior tennis tournaments Formula of Success organized for the second year in a row by the Formula Tennis-Xokkey Company. She also talked about the joint project with the Piter Raduga shopping center and how the Organizing Committee have formed a great relationship with this partner. In addition, she invited everyone to the traditional and exciting event – the Family Day which takes place at Sibur Arena on January 28 and talked about the contests organized for media representatives. Ms. Podguzova thanked the media partners, all participants of the press conference for entertaining and interesting pieces and their authentic style which makes readers and viewers really interested in the tournaments of St. Petersburg and enthusiastic about visiting the events.

Member of the Board, Merited Coach of Russia Vladimir Kamelzon was uncharacteristically brief this time. The reason for that was not that his colleagues had already covered everything: he had the best intentions and wanted to leave it to everyone who came to the press conference and the general public to form their own opinion about the upcoming huge event that promises to become a memorable and unique tournament in the history of St. Petersburg and the WTA. “I wish this tournament great success!” – was Mr. Kamelzon’s calm and confident conclusion.

After the speeches the media representatives asked about their topics of interest and got comprehensive responses.

АЛЕКСАНДР МЕДВЕДЕВ: «III МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ ТЕННИСНЫЙ ТУРНИР ST. PETERSBURG LADIES TROPHY СТАНЕТ САМЫМ ПРЕДСТАВИТЕЛЬНЫМ ТУРНИРОМ ЗА ВСЮ ИСТОРИЮ ЕГО ПРОВЕДЕНИЯ»

Alex-tennis photographer ATP WTA FormulaTX St.Petersburg Ladies Trophy

Сегодня 15 января, в ТАСС «Северо-Запад» состоялась традиционная пресс-конференция, посвящённая III Международному теннисному турниру St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy, с участием организаторов, представителей городской власти, спортивной общественности, СМИ.

В мероприятии приняли участие Александр Медведев – заместитель Председателя Правления ПАО «Газпром», генеральный директор турнира; Владимир Кириллов – вице-губернатор Санкт-Петербурга, Павел Белов —  председатель Комитета по физической культуре и спорту Правительства Санкт-Петербурга, Владимир Прокофьев – президент Федерации тенниса Санкт-Петербурга, Наталия Камельзон – директор WTA турнира, Владимир Камельзон – член директората турнира по общим вопросам, заслуженный тренер России, Вера Подгузова – PR-директор турнира.

Александр Медведев тепло поприветствовал собравшихся участников пресс-конференции, обратив внимание на значимую часть турнира – звёздный состав игроков:

— Мы довольны, что в турнире 2018 года примут участие первая ракета WTA – румынская теннисистка Симона Халеп, прекрасным соперником для остальных участниц станет Каролин Возняцки – вторая ракетка мирового рейтинга, Елена Остапенко, участница и победительница в парном разряде St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy 2017, а сегодня занимающая седьмую строчку рейтинга WTA, также с радостью приняла приглашение организаторов турнира на участие, француженка Каролин Гарсия (восьмой номер мирового рейтинга) и её землячка, участница и победительница прошлогодних соревнований Кристина Младенович (11-я ракетка WTA) порадуют всех своей игрой на кортах «СИБУР АРЕНЫ». Объективно, состав игроков турнира 2018 года сильнейший, мы не исключаем возможности появления на кортах Винус Уильямс, wild card которой может быть предоставлена WTA. С уверенностью могу сказать, что III Международный теннисный турнир St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy станет самым представительным турниром за всю историю его проведения.

Александр Иванович, подводя итог, поблагодарил за помощь в организации женского турнира представителей городской власти Санкт-Петербурга, поддержка которой вносит большой вклад в подготовительную работу к женским соревнованиям.

Вице-губернатор Санкт-Петербурга Владимир Кириллов передал приветствие всем участникам пресс-конференции от имени губернатора Санкт-Петербурга Георгия Полтавченко. Также Владимир Владимирович выразил искреннюю личную благодарность от Георгия Сергеевича Александру Ивановичу Медведеву, весомый вклад которого в спорт дал теннису большой шанс на развитие и процветание.

Президент Федерации тенниса Санкт-Петербурга Владимир Прокофьев после приветствия собравшихся был лаконичен и патриотичен, выразив искреннее желание, чтобы победу в St. Petersburg Ladies Trophy 2018 одержала российская спортсменка: «Этого просто очень хочется!» — подытожил Владимир Николаевич.

Наталия Камельзон – директор WTA турнира, поблагодарила все СМИ, в том числе генеральных и официальных информационных партнёров, за большую творческую и яркую работу, которая формирует положительный имидж турнира, за стабильность сотрудничества и положительные эмоции от интересных материалов и зрелищных фотографий. Наталия Александровна выразила признательность Правительству Санкт-Петербурга за содействие в организации международных турниров, а также — партнёрам и спонсорам соревнований.

Наталия Камельзон особо подчеркнула, что за два года проведения в Санкт-Петербурге турнира WTA у организаторов сложились хорошие отношения с Женской теннисной ассоциацией, нестандартный подход к организации соревнований в Петербурге вызвал у последней большой интерес, а презентация города на Неве, как претендента на проведение Итогового турнира WTA, произвела впечатление на директорат Женской теннисной ассоциации.

— Отмечу, что в этом году к нам приедут Председатель Совета директоров WTA Стив Саймон, Президент WTA Микки Лоулер, вице-президент WTA Катрин Чепетто, вице-президент WTA, супервайзер WTA, супервайзер финального турнира WTA в Сингапуре Джулия Орланди, которая будет в этом году исполнять обязанности супервайзера нашего турнира вместо Тони Чо, также к нам приедет руководитель служб безопасности ATP и WTA Боб Кэмпбелл.

PR-директор турнира Вера Подгузова рассказала о большой предтурнирной работе, которую проводит PR-служба петербургских соревнований. Вера Александровна отметила серию детских теннисных турниров «Формула успеха», которые второй год подряд проводятся под эгидой компании «Формула Теннис Хоккей» и о совместном проекте с ТРК «Питер Радуга», с кем у организаторов сложились тёплые отношения сотрудничества, также пригласила всех на традиционный и зрелищный праздник – Family day, который пройдёт на «СИБУР АРЕНЕ» 28 января, о конкурсах для СМИ. Вера Подгузова поблагодарила информационных партнёров турнира, всех участников пресс-конференции за яркие, интересные материалы, нестандартная подача которых формирует у читателей и зрителей неподдельный интерес и желание посещать петербургские турниры.

Владимир Наумович Камельзон, член директората турнира, заслуженный тренер России на этот раз был на удивление краток, но вовсе не потому, что всё уже сказали за него коллеги, а лишь из добрых побуждений он решил дать право всем собравшимся и публике сформировать своё представление о надвигающемся грандиозном событии, которое обещает стать одним из запоминающихся и нестандартных турниров в истории Санкт-Петербурга и WTA: «Желаю успехов этому турниру!» — спокойно и уверенно подвёл итог Владимир Камельзон.